Earlier this week, we decided to give TWO tickets away to our highly anticipated event coming up, on April 23- the GOBY Awards!

Today, we would like to announce our winner, Loretta Fontaine!

We asked our readers to let us know how they got involved and/or became aware of Stakeholders, and what they are looking forward to experiencing in the future.. Loretta said “I heard about the Stakeholders through Facebook and Kate Hedgeman. What a wonderful way to celebrate and serve our communities! So much talent, passion and compassion where we choose to live!”

Thank you, Loretta! And, congratulations! We look forward to meeting you at the GOBY Awards!

You can learn more about Loretta, and connect with her socially, here:
Twitter: @lorettafontaine
Kickstarter: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1576546752/ecohappy-three-steps-toward-an-earth-friendly-life

Be sure to stay tuned for our NEXT GIVEAWAY, it will be announced sometime this week!


The GOBY Awards will be presented in a Hollywood-style ceremony on Wednesday, April 23, 2014, at the GE Theatre at Proctors in downtown Schenectady, New York.

Two hundred Capital Region business and community leaders are expected to gather to honor the 2014 honorees, starting at 5:30pm with a lavish networking cocktail party, followed by the Oscar-style award show at 6:30 pm (minus the long-winded speeches!). Hosted by Robert Clancy, owner of Spiral Design Studio and author of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Soul, the ceremony will be enhanced by performances from area bands and other musical groups.

The 2014 GOBY Award winners are:

• Marcus Q. Pryor, Young Philanthropist Award
• Michelle Hines Abram, Arts Ambassador Award
• David Rozen, Civic Engagement & Advocacy Award
• Lisa Clifford, Volunteer Spirit Award
• Leah Powell Tyrrell, Volunteer Spirit Award
• Nixon Peabody, LLP, Building Sustainable Communities Award
• John Matthew Douglas, Community Mentorship Award
• O’Connell & Aronowitz, The Heart of Business Award
• Momentive Performance Materials, Inc., Outstanding Company Service Project
• Gavant Software, Outstanding Company Service Project Award
• Saratoga Warhorse, Everyday Hero Award
• Fazana Saleem-Ismali, Dreamer Award

Special Recognition: Stakeholders Founders Award

This special award will be given to Stakeholders Board Members and staff who had an early and influential impact on the formation and success of Stakeholders. Founders Award honorees are:

Catherine. M. Hedgeman, Founder and CEO
James J. Salengo, Board President
Alan Alexander, Board Treasurer
Jason Lane
Richard Nacy
Justin Priddle
Brianne Ptak-Mimura
Karen Trudell
Michael Weidrich
Stephen M. Martini, Chief Financial Officer
Ray Patterson, Volunteer Information Director

Based in Albany, New York, The Stakeholders is a not-for-profit organization that inspires and equips people to take positive action in their communities. Stakeholders, Inc. is a New York State Regional Volunteer Center for an eight-county region, as well as an affiliate of the National Points of Light Institute.

More information about The Stakeholders, Inc. and ticket purchasing options for the 2014 GOBY Awards can be found by visiting: http://stakeholders.force.com/Events_V